The City of Lytle, TX - Home Page
print pagerss
The City of Lytle, TX - Home Page

Go To Search
Driving Safety Courses
If you are charged with a traffic offense under Subtitle C of the transportation code you may ask the court if you qualify to take a defensive driving course.  The request for defensive driving must be made in writing and the court will require the following at the time of the request:
  • Valid Texas Drivers License
  • Valid Proof of Financial Responsibility (Insurance)
  • A Plea of Guilty or No Contest
  • Payment of Court Costs and an Administrative Fee

If you are to take a defensive driving course, you will be allowed 90 days to complete the course and show proof of completion to the court.  You are required to attend a defensive driving course approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator's course approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

You are eligible to take the course if you:
  • Have not take a defensive driving course within the past year for a ticket dismissal
  • Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation
  • Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit
  • Do not have a commercial driver's license or out of state driver's license

You may not take defensive driving for certain offenses. You should call the court to see if you qualify.  Passing or overtaking a school bus is an example of a violation that will not all you to take a defensive driving course.

If you fail to show proof of completing the defensive driving course to the court within 90 days, you will be required to appear for a show cause hearing.  If you fail to appear for the hearing you will be charged with failure to appear and the case will be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.


Defered Disposition (Probation)
All request for probation must be in writing with a plea of guilty or nolo contendere and a waiver of jury trial.  You will need to call the court to see if you qualify and for specific instructions before submitting this request.

Defendants may not speak with the judge prior to trial.  All defendants are encouraged to call the court office for assistance with their cases.


Failure to Appear
This court is contracted with the Texas Department of Public Safety through their failure to appear system.  If you fail to appear in court as a required by law for the prosecution of an offense, or if you fail to pay or satisfy a judgment ordering the payment of a fine and costs in the manner ordered by the court, renewal of your driver's license maybe denied, and an additional charge will be filed against you.


City of Lytle
14916 Main St
Lytle, TX 78052
Ph: (830) 709-3692